Fees and services—Application for grant or renewal of a standard licence under the Nature Conservation Act

back to Animal licences and permits

There are three licences which allow people to keep, breed or trade protected animals in Queensland under the Nature Conservation Act 1992. Licences are based on the number of animals you have and your intention to keep, breed or trade them. Licence types are Standard, Specialised, and Advanced. Some animals are exempt from requiring a licence, allowing you to keep these animals without a licence. Animals not listed as exempt, Class 1 or Class 2 are by default prohibited from being kept and traded on a Standard, Specialised or Advanced Licence.

Available from
Phone us
Contact information
PaL Enquiries palm@des.qld.gov.au
Further information
About this service